Accomodating children with special dietary

09-Mar-2018 17:39

Food Allergies are caused by the immune system falsely recognising the protein component of a food as a threat.Most food allergy reactions usually occur quickly; generally within 2 hours of exposure, but gut related symptoms (such as diarrhea, constipation or bloating) may take several hours or even a few days to develop.If the gluten content of a particular food is not clear, the Coeliac Australia recommends : ‘When in Doubt, Leave it Out’.Unsafe foods If you require a gluten-free diet, avoid any products which contain the following ingredients: wheat, rye, barley, triticale, oats, flour (unless a gluten-free source is specified); pasta, semolina; farina or thickeners; wheat starch, starch (if not specified as gluten-free); cereal, bread, biscuit, batter, crumbs; corn flour (if not specified as gluten-free); malt.It can be difficult to identify which foods contain gluten but it is important to check food labels and if a food contains additives in the additive number range of 1400-1450 then you will especially need to check if the product is gluten free.

JAMS AND SPREADS: All jams, marmalade, honey, golden syrup, treacle, maple syrup, molasses and peanut butter (always check the labels for gluten content).

This disease is treated by a lifelong gluten free diet.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, oats, malt, spelt and triticale.

It is well documented that certain food chemicals can “irritate the nerve endings in sensitive people to cause a range of symptoms”.

Common symptoms include recurrent hives and swellings, rhinitis or sinusitis (frequently running or stuffed up nose), recurrent mouth ulcers, stomach pains and bowel irritations (loose, frequent often very smelly stools or even constipation).Children are most likely to develop a food allergy when they are under 5 years of age.Reactions to cow’s milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, soy, wheat, and fish account for more than 85% of food allergies in children.Children with food intolerances may also present as irritable, restless or demonstrate behavioural problems such as defiance, exaggerated moodiness or even Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) – like behaviour.